Tags

, , ,

jugglingI just read this article about finding your true passion. The author, Cal, talks about the imaginary idea that you should “do what you’re passionate about.” In essence, he says that you shouldn’t do what you’re passionate about, but be passionate about what you do. This means that instead of searching out the perfect career, search out your inner drive and apply that to a career that interests you. I like this.

Like Cal, I remember feeling like I should know what I wanted to do. I also remember knowing kids in high school who knew they wanted to be doctors and then actually became doctors. Unlike those lucky few, I didn’t know what I wanted to do. I have tried out a couple different industries and a couple different roles, applying my passion and drive to each. As a result, I have become a jack-of-all-trades. I have discovered my strengths and learned how to best apply them to any number of jobs. I think that not being pigeonholed into one specific set of job qualifications is a positive attribute.

The downside to this, however, is that “good at anything you throw at me” doesn’t read well on a resume or cover letter. The job application process remains one of looking at bullet points instead of the big picture. I understand why this is – companies need some way to weed through the hundreds of applications they receive. Still, there has to be a better way. How do we get those skills that don’t fit into bullet points onto the table? Many say that that is what the interview is for. That’s great. What about getting to the interview? 

I wish I had the answers or even some suggestions but I truly don’t.  If you have any ideas, let me know. I’d love to figure out how to list “good at anything you throw at me” as one of my qualifications.

