Tags

, , , ,

I’m a native New Yorker.  I got tired of looking at everyone else’s pictures of my city.  In August 2001, I spent a day walking around with my dad and my camera taking pictures.

When I looked at the negatives, I decided I didn’t like the construction in the middle of Washington Square Arch in this photo.

Image

So, with the help of my mom (who understands Photoshop), I removed it.

Image

Not only is it not as interesting a picture, it was missing a key element.  Look closely in the middle of the arch…

Image

On September 11, 2001, I went back to the original photo. I was lucky, I could simply go back.  The Towers couldn’t.  The victims couldn’t.  The first responders couldn’t.  New York couldn’t.

The moral of this story: Always save your originals. You might want to go back to them.

